Research Databases

Information about books and authors.

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

Provides genealogy records specifically for those of African American descent

Alt Healthwatch is a full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

The American & English Literature Collection contains many works of poetry, drama, and prose based on books and other sources originally published in print. 

Biography Reference Bank. Includes the in-depth profiles from Current Biography and World Authors, the periodical coverage of Biography Index, and the specialist content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides full-text articles, images, and abstracts from today's leading magazines and journals.

An essential article database for business research providing the full text for more than 2000 periodicals, including about 1000 scholarly journals

Get the detailed information you need to tackle vehicle maintenance and repairs.

The Cleveland Necrology File contains local cemetery records and newspaper death notices for the following years: 1833, 1847-1848, 1850-1975.

Full text for nearly 300 publications covering the latest information and current trends in high technology including computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.

Consumer Health Complete supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.

Search Consumer Reports magazine for full text articles from 1991 to the present. Find product evaluations, articles on public safety, health, marketplaces, and legal decisions that affect consumers

Directory information for 11 million U.S. businesses and 120 million U.S. households. Search for businesses by SIC code, sales volume number of employees and more. Search for residence directory information by name, location or phone number

ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.

Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.

Fold3 Library Edition by Ancestry provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.

Provides a wide selection of Ohio legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in easy to understand language

This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.

Provides census records and other resources for genealogy research. 

This database offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines.

Through a collection of comprehensive full-text content, this database provides users with detailed, user-friendly “how-to” information covering a variety of home improvement and repair projects.

This rich full-text database provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It gives students, professors and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.

Free online educational courses, including courses on buisness, software, design, and more.

Designed specifically for high school libraries, MAS Ultra – School Edition is a full-text database of popular magazines, reference books and primary sources covering many subjects, including history, science and health. It also includes and over a million photos, maps and flags. 

Designed specifically for public libraries, this database provides full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents. It also includes an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.

Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.

Designed for middle school libraries, Middle Search Plus is a full-text database providing popular middle school magazines and reference books. Covering subjects such as history, current events, science and sports, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.

Morningstar Investment Research Center provides independent, in-depth research and recommendations on 11,000 stocks, 24,000 mutual funds, and 950 exchange traded funds. The format is user-friendly and includes an investment education section

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks. 

Novelist K-8 helps librarians, teachers, parents, and other adults who care about children in grades K-8 find fiction and non-fiction books to read tailored to their reading level and interests. Or, kids can try it themselves to help them select books they will enjoy. Using simple search techniques, find helpful resources such as expert reading recommendations, read-alikes, book discussion guides, thematic book lists and more

Novelist Plus helps readers of all ages or those who help readers find fiction and non-fiction books they will enjoy. Using simple search techniques, find helpful resources such as expert reading recommendations, read-alikes, book discussion guides, thematic book lists and more

Provides resources and information for victims of crime to learn their rights and build a case.

These online research resources are provided by Ohio libraries to all Ohio residents.

The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.

Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers. 

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in PsycINFO. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.

Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.

Over 40,000 detailed maps of Ohio cities drawn between 1882 and 1962

Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images. 

Small Business Reference Center offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.

In an effort to increase access to a wide range of health and human services in Cuyahoga County, United Way Services' First Call For Help (FCFH) has developed a web based version of its "Reference" database. Access more than 1,000 agencies, 4,000 programs, and 10,000 services in our area by searching this valuable online resource

Oxford's Very Short Introductions series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects -- from Islam to Sociology, Politics to Classics, and Literary Theory to History

Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this database provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals for high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public.

Online tool to identify tree species by name, leaves, or fruits. 

Online tool to find a species of snake by name or appearance.

Online tool to identify arrowheads and other prehistoric artifacts

World Book is a leading publisher of nonfiction and mixed-genre children's book series, reference materials, and digital learning platforms.

Emergent learners will engage in an interactive and playful environment that encourages reading comprehension and mastery of phonetic skills.

Online encyclopedia includes eBooks, videos, activities, read-aloud, and translation features. Lexile reading levels included.

World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos is the Spanish Language online reference encyclopedia by World Book.